We needed an emoji that represented the rule; this campaign is about to achieve it

post-title

Although we live in the 21st century, there are still many prejudices about the menstrual cycle, even many girls are told that it is a topic about which they should not talk to almost anyone. Due to this situation, a campaign has been initiated in Australia to Whatsapp and other social networks incorporate an emoticon that represents menstruation.

So far five different models of emoji have been drawn representing the period and it is possible that they will soon reach your phone. Do you want to know more about them? Here are the details.

Australia has taken a big step



It is clear that we still have a long way to go; Fortunately in Australia, the non-governmental organization (NGO) Plan International has launched a campaign to introduce a menstrual emoji to the template we use every day.

Sussane Legena, deputy executive director of the NGO, assures that an image is a global language and that from that point of view, the campaign makes sense as it would break the taboo on the period, adding:

We created this in order to challenge the stigma associated with menstruation that affects women throughout the world. Is not it ridiculous that there is an emoji blowing his nose and one on a CD, but not one of the menstrual period?



So far, five icons have been designed

All were published in the Facebook account of the organization for users to choose a winner. Some of them range from the most explicit ones, such as a sanitary towel stained with blood, to the simplest ones like little drops that go from being happy to sad.

After the vote that will close on June 2, the design will be presented to the Unicode consortium, in charge of managing the icons so they can be incorporated into social networks.

So far, more than 6 thousand people have selected their favorite emoji

And others have expressed their disagreement to consider it unnecessary, but as a woman, how many times have you felt the need to answer a message using an emoji that explains that you are in those terrible days of the month?



If you want to vote, you can do it here.

Daily Show Creators on Representation & Crossing Borders with Comedy | Future of Everything Festival (September 2020)


Top

Wir brauchten ein Emoji, das die Regel darstellte; Diese Kampagne ist im Begriff, es zu erreichen

post-title

Obwohl wir im 21. Jahrhundert leben, gibt es immer noch viele Vorurteile über den Menstruationszyklus, sogar vielen Mädchen wird gesagt, dass es ein Thema ist, über das sie mit fast niemandem sprechen sollten. Aufgrund dieser Situation wurde in Australien eine Kampagne gestartet, um WhatsApp und andere soziale Netzwerke enthalten ein Emoticon, das die Menstruation darstellt.

Bisher wurden fünf verschiedene Emoji-Modelle gezeichnet, die den Zeitraum darstellen, und es ist möglich, dass sie bald Ihr Telefon erreichen. Möchten Sie mehr über sie erfahren? Hier sind die Details.

Australien hat einen großen Schritt gemacht

Es ist klar, dass wir noch einen langen Weg vor uns haben. Glücklicherweise hat die Nichtregierungsorganisation (NGO) Plan International in Australien eine Kampagne gestartet, um ein Menstruationsemoji in die Vorlage einzuführen, die wir jeden Tag verwenden.

Sussane Legena, stellvertretender Exekutivdirektor der NGO, versichert, dass ein Bild eine Weltsprache ist und dass aus dieser Sicht die Kampagne sinnvoll ist, da sie das Tabu dieser Zeit brechen würde.

Wir haben dies geschaffen, um das mit der Menstruation verbundene Stigma zu bekämpfen, das Frauen auf der ganzen Welt betrifft. Ist es nicht lächerlich, dass sich ein Emoji die Nase weht und einer auf einer CD, aber nicht einer aus der Menstruation?

Bisher wurden fünf Icons entworfen

Alle wurden im Facebook-Konto der Organisation veröffentlicht, damit Benutzer einen Gewinner auswählen können. Einige von ihnen reichen von den explizitesten wie einem mit Blut befleckten Damenbinden bis zu den einfachsten wie kleinen Tropfen, die von glücklich bis traurig reichen.

Nach der Abstimmung, die am 2. Juni endet, wird das Design dem Unicode-Konsortium vorgelegt, das für die Verwaltung der Symbole verantwortlich ist, damit diese in soziale Netzwerke eingebunden werden können.

Bisher haben mehr als 6000 Menschen ihr Lieblings-Emoji ausgewählt

Und andere haben ihre Ablehnung zum Ausdruck gebracht, es für unnötig zu halten, aber wie oft haben Sie als Frau das Bedürfnis verspürt, eine Nachricht mit einem Emoji zu beantworten, das erklärt, dass Sie sich in diesen schrecklichen Tagen des Monats befinden?

Wenn Sie abstimmen möchten, können Sie dies hier tun.

A Show of Scrutiny | Critical Role | Campaign 2, Episode 2 (August 2019)


Top