They create ice cream that reduces the side effects of chemotherapy

post-title

Treatment through chemotherapy is widely effective against cancer when detected early. However, although its function is to attack harmful cells, the deterioration of those that are in perfect conditions is not ruled out.

In most of the times, the side effects are severe because they cause lack of appetite, nausea, mouth sores, fatigue and loss of weight and hair. Fortunately, there are already ways to prevent them and among them is an ice cream dessert with different flavors.

In Brazil, a group of researchers from the Federal University of Santa Catarina created an ice cream with particular properties to decrease the effects that result from chemotherapy. Strawberry, chocolate and lemon are the flavors offered by this dessert that acts as a food supplement in the diet of cancer patients.



For more than a year, specialists tested ice cream to demonstrate its effectiveness.

Carol Gilda Martins, financial assistant and patient of the hospital unit for lymphatic cancer shares her experience after chemotherapy.

The medication is very strong, so I think collateral effects are inevitable; I have mucositis, which is a wound in the throat, which makes feeding difficult.

Raquel Kuerten, at the head of the study, says that being a cold product helps anesthetize the oral cavity and reduce the symptoms of mucositis.



In a factory in Florianópolis, the procedure for the exact formula that the nutritionists of the UFSC were looking for began, and after six months they achieved the result.

The deodorized olive oil and large amount of protein are present in the mixture, therefore, the ice cream contains neither gluten nor lactose, and the patients who have tried it say that they notice improvements in the stability of the symptoms after a chemotherapy.

Another good news is that other members of the family can eat it as an act of integration towards the patient.

Eating During Cancer Treatment (April 2021)


Top

Sie kreieren Eiscreme, die die Nebenwirkungen der Chemotherapie reduziert

post-title

Die Behandlung durch Chemotherapie ist gegen Krebs weithin wirksam, wenn sie frühzeitig erkannt wird. Obwohl es die Aufgabe hat, schädliche Zellen anzugreifen, ist eine Verschlechterung der in einwandfreiem Zustand befindlichen Zellen nicht ausgeschlossen.

In den meisten Fällen sind die Nebenwirkungen schwerwiegend, da sie Appetitlosigkeit, Übelkeit, Mundschmerzen, Müdigkeit und Gewichts- und Haarverlust verursachen. Glücklicherweise gibt es bereits Möglichkeiten, dies zu verhindern. Darunter befindet sich ein Eisdessert mit verschiedenen Geschmacksrichtungen.

In Brasilien hat eine Gruppe von Forschern aus der Federal Universität Santa Catarina kreierte ein Eis mit besonderen Eigenschaften, um die Auswirkungen der Chemotherapie zu verringern. Erdbeere, Schokolade und Zitrone sind die Aromen, die dieses Dessert als Nahrungsergänzungsmittel für Krebspatienten bietet.



Über ein Jahr lang haben Spezialisten Eis getestet, um seine Wirksamkeit zu beweisen.

Carol Gilda Martins, Finanzassistentin und Patientin der Krankenhausabteilung für Lymphkrebs, berichtet über ihre Erfahrungen nach einer Chemotherapie.

Das Medikament ist sehr stark, daher denke ich, dass Kollateraleffekte unvermeidlich sind. Ich habe Mukositis, eine Wunde im Hals, die das Füttern erschwert.

Raquel Kuerten, an der Spitze der Studie, sagt, dass ein kaltes Produkt hilft, die Mundhöhle zu betäuben und die Symptome der Mukositis zu reduzieren.



In einer Fabrik in Florianópolis begann das Verfahren für die genaue Formel, nach der die Ernährungswissenschaftler der UFSC suchten, und nach sechs Monaten erreichten sie das Ergebnis.

Das desodorierte Olivenöl und eine große Menge Protein sind in der Mischung enthalten, daher enthält das Eis weder Gluten noch Laktose, und die Patienten, die es ausprobiert haben, geben an, dass sie nach einer Chemotherapie Verbesserungen in der Stabilität der Symptome bemerken.

Eine weitere gute Nachricht ist, dass andere Familienmitglieder es als Integrationsakt für den Patienten zu sich nehmen können.

Die Wahrheit: Ende der Illusion - Hörbuch (Stefan Molyneux) - Das Buch das DEIN LEBEN verändert (Oktober 2021)


Top