So did the husband of the Prime Minister of Luxembourg among First Ladies during the NATO Summit

post-title

Since November 2016, the president of the United States, Donald Trump and his wife, Melania Trump, have dedicated themselves to surprising the world press with every step they take. However, the surprise at the meeting of First Ladies of the NATO Summit (North Atlantic Treaty Organization), was not the first official trip to Europe of the first American lady, nor the presence of her French counterpart, Brigitte Trogneux, wife of Emmanuel Macron.

A meeting that usually took place between queens like Matilde of Belgium, first ladies and wives of leaders, had as center of attention a man: Gauthier Destenay, couple of the prime minister of Luxembourg, Xavier Bettel. The image of the First Husband is already going around the world on the Internet and is the cherry on the cake in a dessert filled with diplomacy and adorned with equal rights.



An image for posterity

It is the first time that a man appears as a couple of a minister or president. The meeting between First Ladies is part of the protocol at the NATO summit, so at the moment of taking the photo of the memory, Gauthier Destenay had no regret in smiling for the camera.

Destanay and Xavier Bettel, 44, have a relationship since 2012, and they got married in 2015. When he was appointed Prime Minister of Luxembourg, Bettel, he passed the law for same-sex marriage and that was how the European country was the first to have a first husband.



Although Destenay does not have a public profile, nor is she originally from Luxembourg, but from Arlon, an adjoining province, when occasion demands, Gauthier complies with obligations commonly performed by women married to presidents. However, there have been few occasions, so Destenay really dedicates himself to his career as an architect.

The new hero of equality

This is how some baptized Gauthier Destenay when the image of the First Ladies and the First Husband became viral. The reality between the lines behind the photo is that both first ladies and husband give an example of equal rights and carry out a peaceful struggle to eradicate any type of discrimination.



Although for some people, same-sex marriage remains a kind of taboo, for others, the inclusion of Gauthier Destenay in the image is another step in the fight for LGBT rights.

The couple even visited the Vatican

Okay, we must admit that the Vatican joke and hell was good But, about anything, long live love!

So far, the position of Gauthier Destenay has no name

How would you name Destenay? First Husband? First Knight?

???????? Luxembourg - Prime Minister Addresses General Debate, 73rd Session (September 2020)


Top

So auch der Ehemann des luxemburgischen Premierministers unter den First Ladies während des NATO-Gipfels

post-title

Seit November 2016 haben sich der Präsident der Vereinigten Staaten, Donald Trump, und seine Frau, Melania Trump, der Aufgabe verschrieben, die Weltpresse mit jedem Schritt zu überraschen. Die Überraschung beim Treffen der First Ladies des NATO-Gipfels (North Atlantic Treaty Organization) war jedoch weder die erste offizielle Reise der First American Lady nach Europa noch die Anwesenheit ihrer französischen Amtskollegin Brigitte Trogneux. Ehefrau von Emmanuel Macron.

Bei einem Treffen, das normalerweise zwischen Königinnen wie Matilde von Belgien, First Ladies und Frauen von Führern, stattfand, stand ein Mann im Mittelpunkt: Gauthier Destenay, ein Paar des luxemburgischen Premierministers Xavier Bettel. Das Bild des Ersten Ehemanns geht bereits im Internet um die Welt und ist die Kirsche auf dem Kuchen in einem Dessert voller Diplomatie und gleichberechtigter Verzierungen.

Ein Bild für die Nachwelt

Es ist das erste Mal, dass ein Mann als Minister oder Präsident auftritt. Das Treffen zwischen First Ladies ist Teil des Protokolls des NATO-Gipfels, daher hatte Gauthier Destenay im Moment der Aufnahme des Erinnerungsfotos kein Bedauern, in die Kamera gelächelt zu haben.

Destanay und Xavier Bettel, 44, haben seit 2012 eine Beziehung und heirateten 2015. Als er zum Premierminister von Luxemburg, Bettel, ernannt wurde, verabschiedete er das Gesetz für gleichgeschlechtliche Ehen und so war das europäische Land der erste, der einen ersten Ehemann hat.

Obwohl Destenay weder ein öffentliches Profil hat noch ursprünglich aus Luxemburg stammt, sondern aus Arlon, einer angrenzenden Provinz, erfüllt Gauthier, wenn es die Gelegenheit erfordert, die üblichen Verpflichtungen von Frauen, die mit Präsidenten verheiratet sind. Es gab jedoch nur wenige Gelegenheiten, weshalb Destenay sich wirklich seiner Karriere als Architekt widmet.

Die neuer Held der Gleichheit

So tauften einige Gauthier Destenay, als das Bild der First Ladies und des First Husband viral wurde. Die Realität zwischen den Zeilen hinter dem Foto ist, dass sowohl First Ladies als auch Ehemann ein Beispiel für Gleichberechtigung geben und friedlich darum kämpfen, jede Art von Diskriminierung auszurotten.

Während für einige Menschen die gleichgeschlechtliche Ehe ein Tabu bleibt, ist für andere die Einbeziehung von Gauthier Destenay in das Bild ein weiterer Schritt im Kampf für LGBT-Rechte.

Das Paar besuchte sogar den Vatikan

OkWir müssen zugeben, dass der Witz und die Hölle im Vatikan gut waren. Aber über alles, es lebe die Liebe!

Bisher hat die Position von Gauthier Destenay keinen Namen

Wie würden Sie Destenay nennen? Erster Ehemann? Erster Ritter?

Bettel: The EU can be a driving force // Future of Europe Speech, May 2018 (August 2019)


Top