In Scotland doctors prescribe travel and nature to heal their patients

post-title

If you are sick but you do not want to go to the hospital to spend long hours in a waiting line so that in the end you are prescribed acetaminophen, fluid intake and rest, we understand you.

Between studies, medicines, consultations and work or school permits, going to the doctor becomes a debilitating situation. However, in Scotland there are those who long to get an appointment with their family doctor, because they usually prescribe the perfect medicine for any evil: travel and nature around the world!

Yes, you read well, the Scottish doctors are authorized to prescribe trips to natural environments, as well as walks in parks, forests or everyday activities that involve nature.



This medical measure seeks to reduce diseases that are becoming common, for example, high blood pressure, cardiovascular problems and diabetes.

All doctors in the country can prescribe contact with nature as part of the treatment of their patients with chronic diseases. Many of the health problems come from bad habits, stress and junk food. Spending 90 minutes a day in wooded areas stabilizes blood pressure levels, and one day in nature, on a recurring way, improves the immune system.

That is why in Scotland doctors have opted to counteract diseases and the causes of stress by replacing them with a moment of peace, far from the routine, stress, noise and pollution of large cities.



But the Scottish doctors are not the first to use trips to the forest to heal chronic diseases: in Japan there is a practice called shirin yoku or forest bath, which consists of walking through the forest but in a meditative way, as explained by Amos Clifford, founder of the Association of Therapies of Nature and the Forest:

It is about taking time to admire the landscape, breathe deeply, feel the air, listen to the wind, the birds, forget about routine and live with our inner peace.

In addition, studies conducted by Japanese scientists discovered that forest baths favor health: low blood pressure, strengthens the immune system, reduces hormones related to stress and reduces the risk of heart attacks.



Pack your suitcase and enjoy nature without worry!

Patients to be prescribed nature (Shetland/Scotland) - BBC News - 5th October 2018 (April 2021)


Top

In Schottland schreiben Ärzte Reisen und Natur vor, um ihre Patienten zu heilen


post-title

Wenn Sie krank sind, aber nicht ins Krankenhaus wollen, um viele Stunden in der Warteschlange zu verbringen, damit Ihnen am Ende Paracetamol, Flüssigkeitsaufnahme und Ruhe verordnet wird, verstehen wir Sie.

Zwischen dem Studium, der Einnahme von Medikamenten, Konsultationen und Arbeits- oder Schulerlaubnissen wird der Arztbesuch zu einer belastenden Situation. In Schottland gibt es jedoch Menschen, die sich nach einem Termin bei ihrem Hausarzt sehnen, weil sie normalerweise die perfekte Medizin für jedes Übel verschreiben: Reisen und Natur auf der ganzen Welt!

Ja, Sie lesen gut, die schottischen Ärzte sind befugt, Ausflüge in die Natur sowie Spaziergänge in Parks, Wäldern oder bei alltäglichen Aktivitäten mit Bezug zur Natur vorzuschreiben.



Diese medizinische Maßnahme zielt darauf ab, die häufig auftretenden Krankheiten wie Bluthochdruck, Herz-Kreislauf-Probleme und Diabetes zu reduzieren.

Alle Ärzte des Landes können im Rahmen der Behandlung ihrer Patienten mit chronischen Krankheiten den Kontakt mit der Natur verschreiben. Viele der Gesundheitsprobleme sind auf schlechte Gewohnheiten, Stress und Junk Food zurückzuführen. Das tägliche Verbringen von 90 Minuten in bewaldeten Gebieten stabilisiert den Blutdruck und eines Tages in der Natur verbessert es auf wiederkehrende Weise das Immunsystem.

Deshalb haben sich Ärzte in Schottland entschieden, Krankheiten und Stressursachen entgegenzuwirken, indem sie sie durch einen Moment des Friedens ersetzten, weit weg von Routine, Stress, Lärm und Umweltverschmutzung in Großstädten.



Aber die schottischen Ärzte sind nicht die ersten, die Fahrten in den Wald unternehmen, um chronische Krankheiten zu heilen: In Japan gibt es eine Praxis, die so genannt wird Shirin Yoku oder ein Waldbad, das aus einem meditativen Spaziergang durch den Wald besteht, wie von Amos Clifford, dem Gründer der Association of Therapies of Nature and the Forest, erklärt:

Es geht darum, sich Zeit zu nehmen, die Landschaft zu bewundern, tief zu atmen, die Luft zu fühlen, dem Wind und den Vögeln zu lauschen, die Routine zu vergessen und mit unserem inneren Frieden zu leben.

Darüber hinaus haben Studien japanischer Wissenschaftler herausgefunden, dass Waldbäder die Gesundheit fördern: Niedriger Blutdruck, Stärkung des Immunsystems, Reduzierung stressbedingter Hormone und Verringerung des Risikos von Herzinfarkten.



Packen Sie Ihren Koffer und genießen Sie sorglos die Natur!

The Haunting of Hill House by Shirley Jackson - Full Audiobook (with captions) (April 2020)


Top