Gloria Vanderbilt, American fashion icon, dies at 95

post-title

Anderson Cooper, news anchor on CNN, announced the death of his mother, the actress, model, designer and icon of American fashion Gloria Vanderbilt, at 95, a victim of stomach cancer.

In the obituary published by CNN, Cooper recalled the life of the famous heiress of the millionaire Reginald Claypoole Vanderbilt, who after his death by cirrhosis converted his two daughters, Cathleen -from his first marriage- and Gloria, from the second, into two of the richest girls in the United States.

During her childhood, at the time of the Great Depression, Gloria Vanderbilt went through a difficult process related to the fight for custody between her mother, Gloria Morgan, and her paternal aunt, Gertrude Vanderbilt Whitney, who finally won the controversial and resounding case .



Gloria studied acting and art. He participated in several television series as Studio One, Playhouse 90 and even appeared in a chapter of the famous Cruise ship of love, in 1981, as well as in magazine programs like those of Oprah Winfrey, Live!, The Tonight Show and others.

She was an international model and at the age of 17 she posed for the magazine Harpers Bazaar, besides being the image of the clothing and fragrance lines that she created and that during the 70s occupied an important space in the world of fashion. Jeans, perfumes, leather goods and accessories were some of the products she launched during her foray into the business that led her to consolidate a fashion empire.



She was also the author of some art and decoration books at home and made some art exhibitions. On his 90th birthday, on February 20, 2014, his collections of drawings, paintings and various objects were exhibited at the New York Design Center.

His romances were also famous, such as those he had with Marlon Brandon, Frank Sinatra, Howard Hughes and photographer and filmmaker Gordon Parks; she enjoyed remarkable friendships like that of the fashion designer Diane von Fürstenberg.

Gloria Vanderbilt was married four times and had the same number of children; the youngest of them, Anderson Hays Cooper, was in charge of giving the news of his death.

Gloria Vanderbilt dies at age 95 (April 2021)


Top

Gloria Vanderbilt, amerikanische Modeikone, stirbt im Alter von 95 Jahren

post-title

Anderson Cooper, Nachrichtensprecher bei CNN, gab den Tod seiner Mutter bekannt, der Schauspielerin, Model, Designerin und Ikone der amerikanischen Mode Gloria Vanderbilt, die mit 95 Jahren an Magenkrebs erkrankt war.

In dem von CNN veröffentlichten Nachruf erinnerte Cooper an das Leben der berühmten Erbin des Millionärs Reginald Claypoole Vanderbilt, der nach seinem Tod durch Leberzirrhose seine beiden Töchter Cathleen - aus seiner ersten Ehe - und Gloria - aus der zweiten Ehe in die Ehe umwandelte zwei der reichsten Mädchen in den Vereinigten Staaten.

Während ihrer Kindheit, zur Zeit der Weltwirtschaftskrise, durchlief Gloria Vanderbilt einen schwierigen Prozess im Zusammenhang mit dem Sorgerechtsstreit zwischen ihrer Mutter Gloria Morgan und ihrer Tante väterlicherseits, Gertrude Vanderbilt Whitney, die schließlich den umstrittenen und durchschlagenden Fall gewann .

Gloria studierte Schauspiel und Kunst. Er nahm an mehreren Fernsehserien als Studio Eins, Spielhaus 90 und erschien sogar in einem Kapitel des berühmten Kreuzfahrtschiff der Liebe1981, sowie in Zeitschriftenprogrammen wie denen von Oprah Winfrey, Leben!, Die Tonight Show und andere.

Sie war ein internationales Model und im Alter von 17 Jahren posierte sie für das Magazin Harpers BasarNeben dem Image der von ihr kreierten Kleider- und Duftlinien, die in den 70er Jahren einen wichtigen Platz in der Modewelt einnahmen. JeansParfums, Lederwaren und Accessoires waren einige der Produkte, die sie auf ihrem Streifzug in das Geschäft, das sie zur Konsolidierung eines Modeimperiums führte, auf den Markt brachte.

Sie war auch Autorin einiger Kunst- und Dekorationsbücher zu Hause und machte einige Kunstausstellungen. An seinem 90. Geburtstag, am 20. Februar 2014, wurden seine Sammlungen von Zeichnungen, Gemälden und verschiedenen Objekten im New York Design Center ausgestellt.

Berühmt waren auch seine Romanzen, wie die mit Marlon Brandon, Frank Sinatra, Howard Hughes und dem Fotografen und Filmemacher Gordon Parks; Sie hatte bemerkenswerte Freundschaften wie die der Modedesignerin Diane von Fürstenberg.

Gloria Vanderbilt war viermal verheiratet und hatte die gleiche Anzahl von Kindern; Der jüngste von ihnen, Anderson Hays Cooper, war dafür verantwortlich, die Nachricht von seinem Tod zu übermitteln.

Wer war Gloria Laura Vanderbilt? (Dezember 2019)


Top