Girl inspires an entire school to learn sign language to understand it

post-title

Morey Belanger, a six-year-old girl with a hearing loss, was the inspiration for around 160 students, teachers and staff at the Dayton Consolidated School in Maine, USA, to decide to learn sign language to make her feel comfortable, like a student more and be able to understand it.

According to Kimberly Sampietro, director of the school -pre-school-, Morey is the first student with disabilities to receive the institution, which has invested extraordinary resources in additional training for teachers and has caused students to learn the language of the deaf.



For her part, Morey's mother, Shannon Belanger, expressed her gratitude for the special welcome that the school and its members have given to her little daughter and stressed that the other children are excited to learn to communicate in another way, and I think they think it's fun.

Today, the school displays signs in sign language along its corridors and children have learned many words through which they communicate with Morey.

As a reward for this effort to be inclusive, Kimberly Sampietro took a show for the children in which the young woman who characterized Princess Cinderella communicated with them with sign language. It is a way for them to know that what they have learned not only helps them talk with Morey, said the director.



Chick-fil-A cashier, deaf customer share special moment (October 2020)


Top

Mädchen inspiriert eine ganze Schule, Gebärdensprache zu lernen, um sie zu verstehen

post-title

Morey Belanger, ein sechsjähriges Mädchen mit Hörverlust, war die Inspiration für rund 160 Schüler, Lehrer und Mitarbeiter der Dayton Consolidated School in Maine (USA), Gebärdensprache zu lernen, damit sie sich wie eine Schülerin wohlfühlt mehr und in der Lage sein, es zu verstehen.

Laut Kimberly Sampietro, Direktorin der Vorschule, ist Morey die erste Schülerin mit Behinderungen, die eine Einrichtung erhält, die außerordentliche Mittel in die zusätzliche Ausbildung von Lehrern investiert und die Schüler dazu veranlasst hat, die Sprache der Gehörlosen zu lernen.

Moreys Mutter, Shannon Belanger, bedankte sich für den besonderen Empfang, den die Schule und ihre Mitglieder ihrer kleinen Tochter entgegenbrachten, und betonte, dass die anderen Kinder begeistert sind, auf andere Weise kommunizieren zu lernen. und ich denke, sie denken, es macht Spaß.

Heute zeigt die Schule Zeichen in Gebärdensprache entlang ihrer Korridore und die Kinder haben viele Wörter gelernt, durch die sie mit Morey kommunizieren.

Als Belohnung für diese Bemühungen um Inklusion nahm Kimberly Sampietro eine Show für die Kinder auf, in der die junge Frau, die Prinzessin Cinderella charakterisierte, mit ihnen in Gebärdensprache kommunizierte. Auf diese Weise wissen sie, dass das, was sie gelernt haben, ihnen nicht nur hilft, mit Morey zu sprechen, sagte der Regisseur.

JAM! Webshow 8: Vorbilder (mit Gebärdensprache) (Oktober 2019)


Top