For the first time EE UU crown three black women in beauty pageants

post-title

The United States has new representatives of beauty in the most important contests: Miss USA, Miss Teen and Miss America and they are black women.

This may seem more common than it is, but the fact that a person - a woman of African-American origin - can do something that stands out in the face of long years of discrimination has given history a very big turn.

Black women, the new queens of EE. UU

Since 1920, the participation of women of color in beauty pageants has been banned; even though the organizations modified the regulation so that females of all races entered, this was still a problem.



It was not until 50 years ago that more candidates appeared in the contest and finally in 1983, Miss America won the first black woman, Vanessa Williams; later, in 1990, Carole Anne Marie Gist became Miss USA; The following year, Janel Bishop was crowned Miss Teen.

Cheslie Kryst, Miss USA

This 2019, when she was named winner of the Miss USA title, enlarged the list of black women who have triumphed in this competition. Coming from North Carolina, she is a lawyer in defense of inmates who may have been unjustly convicted and seeks to shorten her punishment. She finished her studies at the University of South Carolina and obtained her law degree and then a master's degree in Business Administration from Wake Forest University.



Kryst told a story in a video aired during the contest in which he relates that a judge of legal competence suggested that he not wear pants, but skirt because they like:

Do not tell women to wear different clothes while giving men substantial feedback on their legal arguments.

Nia Franklin, Miss America

With only 23 years old, she represents New York and women of color. He was born in North Carolina, he is an opera singer, he started at a young age, when he found his vocation in music. He currently works at Sing for Hope NGO, which helps people through music.

I grew up in a predominantly Caucasian school, I felt out of place because of the color of my skin. But as I grew up I found my love for the arts, and through music I was able to feel positive about myself and who I was.



Kaliegh Garris, Miss Teen USA

In favor of naturalness and against the standards of beauty, Garris prevailed his liberal thoughts and raised his hair to natural. Despite the criticism, she won the title of Miss Connecticut Teen USA and later Miss Teen USA; He said that his hair would look better than if he brought it straight:

I know how I look with straight hair, with extensions and with my curly hair, and I feel more secure and comfortable with my natural hair.

MOST SASSY MOMENTS | Honey Boo Boo VS Toddlers and Tiaras (April 2021)


Top

Zum ersten Mal EE UU krönen drei schwarze Frauen in Schönheitswettbewerben

post-title

Die Vereinigten Staaten haben neue Vertreter der Schönheit in den wichtigsten Wettbewerben: Miss USA, Miss Teen und Miss America, und sie sind schwarze Frauen.

Dies scheint häufiger zu sein als es ist, aber die Tatsache, dass eine Person - eine Frau afroamerikanischer Herkunft - etwas tun kann, das angesichts jahrelanger Diskriminierung auffällt, hat der Geschichte eine sehr große Wendung gegeben.

Schwarze Frauen, die neuen Königinnen von EE. UU

Seit 1920 ist die Teilnahme farbiger Frauen an Schönheitswettbewerben verboten. Obwohl die Organisationen das Reglement dahingehend modifizierten, dass Frauen aller Rassen teilnahmen, war dies immer noch ein Problem.

Erst vor 50 Jahren traten weitere Kandidaten für den Wettbewerb an, und schließlich gewann Miss America 1983 die erste schwarze Frau, Vanessa Williams. 1990 wurde Carole Anne Marie Gist Miss USA; Im folgenden Jahr wurde Janel Bishop zur Miss Teen gekrönt.

Cheslie Kryst, Miss USA

Als sie 2019 zur Gewinnerin des Miss USA-Titels ernannt wurde, erweiterte sich die Liste der schwarzen Frauen, die diesen Wettbewerb gewonnen haben. Sie kommt aus North Carolina und ist Anwältin für die Verteidigung von Insassen, die möglicherweise zu Unrecht verurteilt wurden und versuchen, ihre Strafe zu verkürzen. Sie beendete ihr Studium an der University of South Carolina und schloss ihr Studium der Rechtswissenschaften mit einem Master in Business Administration an der Wake Forest University ab.

Kryst erzählte in einem Video, das während des Wettbewerbs ausgestrahlt wurde, eine Geschichte, in der er berichtete, dass ein Richter der Rechtskompetenz vorschlug, er trage keine Hosen, sondern einen Rock, weil sie mögen:

Fordern Sie Frauen nicht auf, andere Kleidung zu tragen, und geben Sie Männern ein fundiertes Feedback zu ihren rechtlichen Argumenten.

Nia Franklin, Miss America

Mit nur 23 Jahren vertritt sie New York und Frauen von Farbe. Er wurde in North Carolina geboren, ist Opernsänger und begann in jungen Jahren, als er seine Berufung in der Musik fand. Derzeit arbeitet er bei der NGO Sing for Hope, die Menschen durch Musik hilft.

Ich bin in einer überwiegend kaukasischen Schule aufgewachsen und fühlte mich aufgrund der Hautfarbe fehl am Platz. Aber als ich groß war, fand ich meine Liebe zu den Künsten und durch die Musik konnte ich mich positiv über mich und mich selbst fühlen.

Kaliegh Garris, Fräulein Teen USA

Garris setzte sich für Natürlichkeit und Schönheit ein, setzte sich durch und hob seine Haare zu Natur. Trotz der Kritik gewann sie den Titel Miss Connecticut Teen USA und später Miss Teen USA; Er sagte, dass sein Haar besser aussehen würde, als wenn er es glatt bringe:

Ich weiß, wie ich mit glattem Haar, mit Extensions und mit meinem lockigen Haar aussehe, und ich fühle mich mit meinem natürlichen Haar sicherer und wohler.

Sexism, Lesbians, & Chris Brown Grammys Controversy (The Point) (November 2019)


Top