Carolina Herrera's new collection is inspired by colorful Mexican folklore

post-title

Mexico is an inexhaustible source of inspiration thanks to its beautiful and colorful scenes, and that's why Wes Gordon, creative director of Carolina Herrera, decided to make a collection of cheerful and lively garments that reflects the soul of the Latin American country.

Resort 2020 It is the result of Mexico's influence in the fashion world in which the brand combined eclectic prints and innovative silhouettes to reflect the joy of living and vibrant energy of Mexican women.

In addition, the brand created a playlist on Spotify to complement the clothing and create the perfect atmosphere for a Latin party. It contains artists such as Los Polares, The Yetis, Plastilina Mosh and Celia Cruz.



Inspired by Latino parties, the Resort 2020 collection is a lively mix of bold colors and vibrant energy that finds its inspiration in the 1970 Carolina Herrera. Embracing this concept, our playlist is a collection of Latin American psychedelic rock. From the Brazilian style of Os Mutantes, to Durango (Mexico) with Los Dug Dugs. It is the kind of music that inspires you to surf in Costa Rica before making a stop in colorful Cartagena.

Despite its beauty, the collection has caused a stir among users of social networks that accuse the brand of cultural appropriation and ask to legislate the protection of cultural heritage as a collective right, beyond the economic benefit, and to recognize the work and authorship of indigenous peoples and communities.



Carolina Herrera is not the first brand to be accused of plagiarism. In 2018 Michael Kors presented a men's sweatshirt in his spring show whose inspiration was the artisan design of a typical Mexican folklore garment known as jargon. The annoyance escalated when it became known that the price of the branded sweatshirt was 20 thousand pesos, when in Mexico it sells for around 200 pesos.

Although the inspiration is evident, according to some organizations it is impossible to regulate the situation since the designs are not registered by the indigenous communities and, in addition, the fact that it is a collective and not individual art, hinders its protection.

Háblame de ti - Banda MS (Carolina Ross cover) (April 2021)


Top

Die neue Kollektion von Carolina Herrera ist von der farbenfrohen mexikanischen Folklore inspiriert

post-title

Mexiko ist dank seiner wunderschönen und farbenfrohen Szenen eine unerschöpfliche Inspirationsquelle. Deshalb hat Wes Gordon, Creative Director von Carolina Herrera, beschlossen, eine Kollektion fröhlicher und lebendiger Kleidungsstücke zu kreieren, die die Seele des lateinamerikanischen Landes widerspiegeln.

Resort 2020 Es ist das Ergebnis des Einflusses Mexikos auf die Modewelt, in der die Marke eklektische Drucke und innovative Silhouetten kombiniert, um die Lebensfreude und die pulsierende Energie mexikanischer Frauen widerzuspiegeln.

Darüber hinaus erstellte die Marke eine Wiedergabeliste auf Spotify, um die Kleidung zu ergänzen und die perfekte Atmosphäre für eine Latin-Party zu schaffen. Es enthält Künstler wie Los Polares, The Yetis, Plastilina Mosh und Celia Cruz.

Inspiriert von Latino-Partys ist die Resort 2020-Kollektion eine lebendige Mischung aus kräftigen Farben und lebendiger Energie, die ihre Inspiration in der Carolina Herrera von 1970 findet. Vom brasilianischen Stil von Os Mutantes bis nach Durango (Mexiko) mit Los Dug Dugs. Diese Art von Musik inspiriert Sie, in Costa Rica zu surfen, bevor Sie in dem farbenfrohen Cartagena Halt machen.

Trotz ihrer Schönheit hat die Sammlung bei den Nutzern sozialer Netzwerke Aufsehen erregt, die die Marke der kulturellen Aneignung beschuldigen und fordern, den Schutz des kulturellen Erbes als kollektives Recht, das über den wirtschaftlichen Nutzen hinausgeht, gesetzlich zu regeln und das anzuerkennen Arbeit und Urheberschaft indigener Völker und Gemeinschaften.

Carolina Herrera ist nicht die erste Marke, der Plagiate vorgeworfen werden. Im Jahr 2018 präsentierte Michael Kors in seiner Frühlingsshow ein Herren-Sweatshirt, dessen Inspiration das handwerkliche Design eines typischen mexikanischen Folklore-Kleidungsstücks namens war Jargon Der Ärger eskalierte, als bekannt wurde, dass der Preis für das Marken-Sweatshirt 20.000 Pesos betrug, während es in Mexiko für rund 200 Pesos verkauft wurde.

Obwohl die Inspiration offensichtlich ist, ist es nach Ansicht einiger Organisationen unmöglich, die Situation zu regulieren, da die Entwürfe nicht von den indigenen Gemeinschaften registriert werden und außerdem die Tatsache, dass es sich um eine kollektive und keine individuelle Kunst handelt, deren Schutz behindert.

euronews le mag - Streifen, Muster und bunte Farben (Oktober 2019)


Top