Brazilian architect teaches women with limited resources to build their own homes

post-title

For a long time the stereotype that certain professions or trades were only for men or only for women was maintained: they had to dedicate themselves to tasks that involved intelligence and strength, while we had to dedicate ourselves to the home. Things have changed and there is more openness for women to perform at work they want and bring the bread to the table and put a roof over their heads. However, for poor women things are not so easy.

The Brazilian architect Carina Guedes was aware of this difficulty and in 2014 she founded the project Architecture in the Periphery, which offers low-income women training to build their own homes, minimizing the cost.



In the favelas, the father, the husband or the mason make the decisions about the home even though it is the women who spend more time in it and it is they who have to face the deficiencies: spaces without lighting, without ventilation, narrow and poorly distributed.

The course lasts from four to six months and in it they learn blueprint design, financial principles, purchase of material, hiring of labor, masonry, hydraulics, settlement of floor and electricity. But in addition to the knowledge they acquire, for Carina the most notorious thing is that they become independent, strong and capable women.



It is interesting to see the transformation of them during this process: community leaders already recognized in that space of struggle, but not in the domestic one, they come to see that they have the same capacity, but that they only lack access to information.

Building with Cob - A Natural & Affordable Way to Build a House (April 2021)


Top

Der brasilianische Architekt lehrt Frauen mit begrenzten Ressourcen, ihre eigenen Häuser zu bauen

post-title

Lange Zeit bestand das Stereotyp, dass bestimmte Berufe oder Berufe nur für Männer oder nur für Frauen waren: Sie mussten sich Aufgaben widmen, die Intelligenz und Stärke betrafen, während wir uns dem Heim widmen mussten. Die Dinge haben sich geändert und es gibt mehr Offenheit für Frauen, bei der Arbeit zu arbeiten, die sie wollen, und das Brot auf den Tisch zu bringen und ein Dach über den Kopf zu legen. Für arme Frauen ist es jedoch nicht so einfach.

Die brasilianische Architektin Carina Guedes war sich dieser Schwierigkeit bewusst und gründete das Projekt 2014 Architektur in der Peripherie, die einkommensschwache Frauen ausbilden, um ihre eigenen Häuser zu bauen und die Kosten zu minimieren.



In der Favelas, der Vater, der Ehemann oder der Maurer treffen die Entscheidungen über das Haus, obwohl es die Frauen sind, die mehr Zeit darin verbringen, und sie sind es, die sich den Mängeln stellen müssen: Räume ohne Beleuchtung, ohne Belüftung, eng und eng schlecht verteilt.

Der Kurs dauert vier bis sechs Monate und darin lernen sie Blaupausenentwurf, Finanzprinzipien, Materialeinkauf, Einstellung von Arbeitskräften, Mauerwerk, Hydraulik, Siedlung von Fußboden und Elektrizität. Aber neben dem Wissen, das sie erwerben, ist für Carina das Berüchtigtste, dass sie selbstständige, starke und fähige Frauen werden.



Es ist interessant zu sehen, wie sie sich während dieses Prozesses verwandeln: Gemeindevorsteher, die bereits in diesem, aber nicht im häuslichen Kampfraum anerkannt wurden, stellen fest, dass sie die gleichen Fähigkeiten haben, aber nur keinen Zugang zu Informationen haben.

DAS EINE AUGE LACHT DAS ANDERE AUGE WEINT (Oktober 2021)


Top