Artificial intelligence would help detect breast cancer

post-title

Cancer is one of the leading causes of death in the world, according to the World Health Organization. One of the most common types is the breast, which in 2004 alone took the lives of 519 thousand women.

Against this background, researchers from the Institute of Technology and the General Hospital of Massachusetts created a prototype that allows forecasting breast cancer up to five years in advance, thanks to artificial intelligence.

To reach this result, the technology was tested with data from 90,000 mammograms from 2009 to 2012, which allowed subtle cancer precursors to be detected before becoming malignant.

This model would be able to predict through mammography if the woman is prone to develop breast cancer in the future, in addition to knowing individual risks that can be used to customize prevention programs. This method works equally well in patients of different races.

In 2016, scientists from Stanford University developed an application capable of diagnosing skin cancer through a photo taken with the cell phone. For this, 130 thousand images of tumors of this type were helped; One year later the result was tested by 21 dermatologists who obtained very positive results that were published in a study.

With these technological advances it is not intended to eliminate the role of the doctor, but to provide a second opinion that can help the cancer stop taking lives or, at least, reduce the number of victims.

Philips and PathAI to improve breast cancer diagnosis with artificial intelligence (September 2019)


Top

Künstliche Intelligenz würde helfen, Brustkrebs zu erkennen

post-title

Krebs ist laut der Weltgesundheitsorganisation eine der häufigsten Todesursachen weltweit. Eine der häufigsten Arten ist die Brust, bei der allein im Jahr 2004 519 000 Frauen ums Leben kamen.

Vor diesem Hintergrund entwickelten Forscher des Institute of Technology und des General Hospital of Massachusetts einen Prototyp, mit dem Brustkrebs dank künstlicher Intelligenz bis zu fünf Jahre im Voraus prognostiziert werden kann.

Um dieses Ergebnis zu erzielen, wurde die Technologie mit Daten aus 90.000 Mammogrammen von 2009 bis 2012 getestet, mit denen subtile Krebsvorläufer erkannt werden konnten, bevor sie bösartig wurden.

Dieses Modell könnte durch Mammographie vorhersagen, ob die Frau in Zukunft an Brustkrebs erkrankt, und darüber hinaus die individuellen Risiken kennen, die zur Anpassung von Präventionsprogrammen genutzt werden können. Diese Methode funktioniert bei Patienten verschiedener Rassen gleich gut.

2016 entwickelten Wissenschaftler der Stanford University eine Anwendung, mit der Hautkrebs mithilfe eines mit dem Handy aufgenommenen Fotos diagnostiziert werden kann. Hierzu wurden 130 Tausend Bilder von Tumoren dieses Typs geholfen; Ein Jahr später wurde das Ergebnis von 21 Dermatologen getestet, die sehr positive Ergebnisse erzielten, die in einer Studie veröffentlicht wurden.

Mit diesen technologischen Fortschritten soll nicht die Rolle des Arztes beseitigt werden, sondern eine zweite Meinung abgegeben werden, die dazu beitragen kann, dass der Krebs kein Leben mehr nimmt oder zumindest die Zahl der Opfer verringert.

Der Streit ums Smartphone: Deshalb kann es Kindern schaden | Quarks (Dezember 2019)


Top