Although it does not define you, the music you choose may reveal features of your personality

Although it is not a precise way to explain our way of being, our musical taste could reveal important features of our personality and even our psychological profile.

Not in vain the Russian novelist Leon Tolstoy said that music is the shorthand of emotion, because through it you can express not only moods but the identification that we adopt with positions that we consider valid in our lives.

Adrian North, a professor at Edinburgh's Heriot-Watt University in the United Kingdom, has devoted himself to studying how musical preferences relate to personality.

The study carried out by the expert in musical psychology consisted of interviewing 36 thousand 518 people and thus evaluating 104 different musical styles, in which grouped a series of characteristics of the respondents' personality, according to the gender of preference.



Thus, he concluded that, for example, the followers of country music are timid but hardworking; Rap lovers have high self-esteem and are outgoing; But those who listen to indie despite being creative could tend to low self-esteem and not be very kind.

Each type of music, according to the survey conducted by Professor North, groups people with similar psychological profiles, although many of them share traits with those who prefer other musical styles. This is the case of those who like heavy metal and classical music, since their taste for something dramatic and theatrical unites them, although they could be differentiated by age profiles and, of course, their preferences in terms of dress and places of interest. to visit.



Although they group people with similar profiles, musical styles do not transform our personality. That is to say, if we listen to a lot of jazz music, it does not mean that we will adopt the traits of those who prefer it: creative, with high self-esteem and extroverts. On the other hand, the study clarified that many of the respondents retain their musical tastes since their youth, since it is at this stage that the identity is consolidated.

Adrian North also says that increasing the volume while driving accelerates the march, which is why those who have sports cars tend to carry music at high volume. Otherwise, those who listen to music at a low level, are more passive in their driving.

On the other hand, Dr. Jason Rentfrow, from the Department of Social and Development Psychology at the University of Cambridge, conducted a study that concluded that humans use music as a badge so that others know the values ​​and personality that distinguish us. During their research, the Rentfrow asked participants to consider the genres of rock, pop, electro, rap, classical music and jazz, so that psychologists could analyze specific features such as extraversion, kindness, awareness and openness, among others.



10 Questions That'll Reveal Who You Really Are (April 2021)


Top

Obwohl es Sie nicht definiert, kann die Musik, die Sie auswählen, Merkmale Ihrer Persönlichkeit enthüllen

Obwohl dies keine genaue Erklärung für unsere Art zu sein ist, kann unser Musikgeschmack wichtige Merkmale unserer Persönlichkeit und sogar unseres psychologischen Profils enthüllen.

Nicht umsonst sagte der russische Romanautor Leon Tolstoi, dass Musik die Kurzschrift der Emotionen ist, weil man damit nicht nur Stimmungen ausdrücken kann, sondern auch die Identifikation, die wir mit Positionen einnehmen, die wir für gültig in unserem Leben halten.

Adrian North, Professor an der Heriot-Watt University in Edinburgh, Großbritannien, hat sich dem Studium der Beziehung zwischen musikalischen Vorlieben und Persönlichkeit verschrieben.

Die vom Experten für Musikpsychologie durchgeführte Studie bestand aus der Befragung von 36.000 518 Personen und der Bewertung von 104 verschiedenen Musikstilen, in denen eine Reihe von Merkmalen der Persönlichkeit der Befragten nach dem Geschlecht der Präferenz gruppiert wurden.

So kam er zu dem Schluss, dass zum Beispiel die Anhänger der Country-Musik schüchtern, aber fleißig sind; Rap-Liebhaber haben ein hohes Selbstwertgefühl und sind kontaktfreudig; Aber diejenigen, die Indie hören, obwohl sie kreativ sind, können dazu neigen, ein geringes Selbstwertgefühl zu zeigen und nicht sehr freundlich zu sein.

Laut der von Professor North durchgeführten Umfrage gruppiert jede Art von Musik Menschen mit ähnlichen psychologischen Profilen, obwohl viele von ihnen Merkmale mit denen teilen, die andere Musikstile bevorzugen. Dies ist der Fall für diejenigen, die Heavy Metal und klassische Musik mögen, da sie sich durch ihre Vorliebe für etwas Dramatisches und Theatralisches auszeichnen, obwohl sie sich nach Altersprofilen und natürlich nach ihren Vorlieben in Bezug auf Kleidung und Sehenswürdigkeiten unterscheiden können. besuchen

Obwohl sie Menschen mit ähnlichen Profilen gruppieren, verändern Musikstile unsere Persönlichkeit nicht. Das heißt, wenn wir viel Jazzmusik hören, heißt das nicht, dass wir die Eigenschaften derjenigen übernehmen, die es bevorzugen: kreativ, mit hohem Selbstwertgefühl und extrovertiert. Andererseits wurde in der Studie klargestellt, dass viele der Befragten ihren Musikgeschmack seit ihrer Jugend beibehalten, da in diesem Stadium die Identität konsolidiert wird.

Laut Adrian North beschleunigt das Erhöhen der Lautstärke während der Fahrt den Marsch, weshalb diejenigen, die Sportwagen haben, dazu neigen, Musik mit hoher Lautstärke zu transportieren. Ansonsten sind diejenigen, die leise Musik hören, passiver im Fahren.

Auf der anderen Seite führte Dr. Jason Rentfrow vom Institut für Sozial- und Entwicklungspsychologie der Universität Cambridge eine Studie durch, in der festgestellt wurde, dass Menschen Musik als Erkennungszeichen verwenden, damit andere die Werte und die Persönlichkeit kennen das zeichnet uns aus. Die Rentfrow baten die Teilnehmer, die Genres Rock, Pop, Elektro, Rap, klassische Musik und Jazz zu berücksichtigen, damit Psychologen unter anderem Besonderheiten wie Extraversion, Freundlichkeit, Bewusstsein und Offenheit analysieren konnten.

Welches ist das gefährlichste Sternzeichen? (November 2019)


Top